Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

Odd-eyed cat

Odd-eyed cat

I got surprised when I saw a strange cat a couple of weeks ago. It was my first time to see a cat with different eye color, blue and yellow. Then I searched information about this at the internet and I found that the cat called “odd-eyed cat”.

The odd-eyed coloring is caused when either the epistatic (dominant) white gene (which masks any other color genes and turns a cat completely white) or the white spotting gene (which is the gene responsible for bicolor and tuxedo cats) prevents melanin (pigment) granules from reaching one eye during development, resulting in a cat with one blue eye and one green, yellow, or brown eye. The condition only rarely occurs in cats that lack both the dominant white and the white spotting gene.(Source)

I took this picture when I accompanied my mother to a traditional market. I saw the cats cage in front of a material store.

Have you ever seen this kind of cat, Pals?

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

  1. ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪😆 Happy Holidays to You & Yours!😆 .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

  2. wow barusan kuliat mata kucing kyk gini mbak.. ngomong-ngomong saya gak ngerti penjelasannya odd cat nya mbak hehehe inggrisku payah

Leave a Reply

